PDA

View Full Version : My first container

Zarguld
17th April 2008, 10:23 PM
Well this is my first try at turning a container or any thing that needs hollowing so here it is give me your worst it is made out of Radiata and Iron bark....

lubbing5cherubs
17th April 2008, 10:24 PM
I like it alot. I think it nice
Toni

joe greiner
17th April 2008, 11:30 PM
Close to perfect on your first try. Well done.

Joe

TTIT
17th April 2008, 11:50 PM
Wouldn't worry about it too much - everyone's gotta start somewhere and it's really not that bad. :2tsup: Look at it this way - at least you've left enough meat to refine the shape and finish a little when you gain bit more experience - I did it myself with some of my earlier 'attempts':B

Check twice!
18th April 2008, 12:02 AM
Zargauld
For a person like myself that does not turn, I find it good for your first attemp at containers. I am no critic, just an admirer looks nice.

TTIT
You have some fine gallery!

John

OGYT
18th April 2008, 04:37 AM
Zarguld, my first wasn't as nice as that one! And your first, being a lidded box, well, that's even better!! Don't let it get away. You'll look back at it after a while and know how much you've progressed. Good job!

artme
18th April 2008, 07:44 AM
Great effort Zarguld!:2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:
Just a couple of suggestions:

Try to make the lid of your next container thinner and ggive it a less chunky look when standing by itself.
Work on your design. It looks as though you couldn't make up your mind about whether you wanted a straight sided or spherical type container.You were very brave to get stuck into radiata! One thing though, it is cheap and plentiful so lots to practice with.

wheelinround
18th April 2008, 01:07 PM
:2tsup: good job for crappy $20 lathe and sharp tools

Skew ChiDAMN!!
18th April 2008, 07:21 PM