PDA

View Full Version : Lower end tools for a novice

jimmyjames
27th January 2004, 09:15 PM
Hi all, I'm a novice with no previous experience - not even woodwork at school and I'm making this up as I go. I recently made a bookcase out of particle board and timber offcuts and intend making other low cost, servicable items for around the house.

Bookcase came out well however I did have problems getting the particle board uniform, this translated to the case not being exactly square and some discrepancies. In other words it's fine but I'd like to improve.

I cut the board by setting guides on a large scrap table and adjusted my saw's depth of cut to just more than the thickness of the board therby not damaging the table too much. In this way and with much fiddling I got boards close (within mm's) to uniform. I used a power plane to take the lot to spec but inevitably they were not perfectly square. No doubt this is why they invented table saws.....

So, tablesaws and a look at the previous conversations shows several options. But as I'm really making cheap stuff out of cheap stuff I can't justify a triton or a good saw - $1000 buys a lot of pre made pine furniture. I'm thinking about a small table saw like a cheap gmc ($100) or at most a ryobi ($280) from bunnings with a couple of fold out benches to assist with handling the stock. I've read criticism of the fences but wonder how much of this is based on comparisons of bottom level tools to high end tools (my pulsar looks like garbage next to my neighbours benz but it'll still gets me around). All my tools are cheapies like ryobi and gmc and and all work as well as I need em to.

I suppose I could get the supplier (bunnings, hudsons, mr plywood) to cut to size then join and shape as needed. Are suppliers accurate? Is it costly?

Feedback would be appreciated and please keep in mind I'm not incredibly skilled, not very rich and really want stuff to do the job to make stuff that will do a job.....