PDA

View Full Version : New at woodturning

DarkWolfz
30th April 2008, 09:38 PM
Hey I'm kind of new to woodturning.

At the moment at school I'm making a mini baseball kind of thing. I have a fair bit of fun. I'm just messing around. I'm nearly finished all i have to do is do the end of the handle and do the top of the bat.

I'm interested in getting a wood lathe so i can start doing some stuff at home. I'll probably con one of my relations into getting me one for my birthday. What is the best price for a decent one? Or one that actually works lmfao

mobjack68
30th April 2008, 11:42 PM
Hey DarkWolfz, welcome to woodturning!! I was a "shop rat" when I was in school...we had morning and afternoon school sessions and I would stay and ride the late bus. Both of the shop teachers "tolerated" me and I managed to spend a TON of time making shavings and trying bunches of different things on the wood lathe. They also offered a great deal of experience and expertise when they appraised my work. Because of them I still "turn my stuff over and turn a foot" they never let me cheat with flat bottoms!!! Keep at it and post some pics of your projects..

artme
1st May 2008, 12:13 AM
G'day dark one! thought you'd been kidnapped!
What happened to that other project?
How much would you think should be spent on a lathe for your good self?
Really good brand new say Vicmarc VL300 = $6,000 give or take.
Small Jet new = about $400.
Good 2nd hand good lathe any where in between.
Troll through the forum and see opinions and prices, after you decide what type of turning you are likely to want to do.
Have lots of fun!!:D:D:D

DarkWolfz
1st May 2008, 08:59 AM
Where would be the best places to buy them. And is the GMC Wood Lathe at Bunnings any good?

And how much are the chisels or whatever they are called for the lathe?