PDA

View Full Version : witch portable sawmill

weisyboy
4th May 2008, 07:24 PM
gday

i am going to buy a swing saw in the neer future and i have a prety good idea of what i like and dont like but was after some other opinions.

lucas 6/13 - 13hp, 6" cut, 5m tracks, log diamater 1.35m total weight 255kg, 2 blades, tool kit.- price $9500.00
http://www.lucasmill.com/OurProducts/CircularSwingBladeMills/Model613/tabid/265/Default.aspx

peterson ATS6 13hp, 6" cut, 4m tracks, frame width 1.2m.- price $11863
http://www.petersonsawmills.com/products_ats.htm#specs_table

ecosaw compact not sure on the specs on this one.- price $10000
http://www.ecosaw.com/eshp/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=35

echnidna
4th May 2008, 07:37 PM
I think they're all much the same.

have you seen them operating at Field Days & Shows?

That may help you choose which setup you prefer

West OZ Mark
4th May 2008, 07:56 PM
Cant coment on the others as I have never used them before but my first mill was a 6.5" 18hp Lucas Saw. I was very happy with it and it served me well. I had the slabbing attachment with it as well.
A couple of years ago I upgraded to the 8.5" Lucas and as I have said before on this forum that I have found the service from Lucas great. :2tsup:
The only reason I upgraded was that I found 8" boards worked out better for my use and most clients ask for 8"x2".

Thanks...Mark

weisyboy
4th May 2008, 08:03 PM
i have seen them all operating at the maleny wood exop and i have a good idea of what i like the lucas and the peterson ats are practicly identical.

echnidna
4th May 2008, 08:11 PM
I prefer the peterson overall,
Though if I needed to get into really hard to get at places it would be the Lucas

weisyboy
4th May 2008, 08:15 PM
what is the reason for you prefering the peterson and what makes it less portable

there is a poll up there you know

echnidna
4th May 2008, 08:35 PM
I prefer the styling of the Peterson, nothing else.