PDA

View Full Version : GIS - Epoxy question

Tomahawk J
5th May 2008, 02:27 PM
Hello all, I'm brand new to this forum. By trade I'm a cabinet and furniture maker, but this is my first attempt at boatbuilding. I started building my GIS about a month ago and am just about ready to put the hull together. My question is, which is better, build the hull, then epoxy coat the interior, or coat the panels, then assemble? If I pre-coat the panels, how important is it that I mask all the glueing surfaces for the bulkheads and other framing timbers?

Thanks,
J

jmk89
5th May 2008, 03:11 PM
J

My reading of Michael's FAQ (http://www.storerboatplans.com/Faq/faqindex.html) on his website leads me to believe that you can do it either of the following ways:

you mask off the areas that you are going to glue and remove the masking before the epoxy has gone fully off or
without masking you use the same kind of epoxy (with thickener) for the adhesive and you rub off any waxy surface that the epoxy has (I believe that some epoxies are better at not having this than others) before gluing.A third alternative is to use the all at once system that Mik describes:
One Hit coating and gluing
An extension of wet on wet epoxying is a method for coating areas that are easy to get at now (plain plywood compenents) may be hard to get at a bit later when other parts are attached. A couple of examples are fitting the bottom, fitting the side decks and fitting framing to the bulkheads.
For example if gluing the bottom panel in place it is easy to coat the inside of the bottom at the same time. For major gluing processes like this it is important to make sure that everything will work smoothly – do a DRY RUN without the epoxy to make sure that you have enough screws etc to hold the bottom on OK – you can use the same holes again when you are putting the bottom on permanently.This is the method (put on your disposable gloves!!!).