PDA

View Full Version : Kids build a GIS?

CCBB
18th May 2008, 10:45 AM
New to the forum here, glad I found it. I am a boatbuilder here in Maine and my day job is running a non-profit boatbuilding program for at-risk youth in Maine. I would like to do a GIS with a group of kids. Should be the perfect scale and I can take them sailing after it is done. We do mostly rowboats; this would be the second sailboat.

Some questions:

1) Why not a centerboard? I know, weight. But I sort of think they are more convenient.
2) Is the board nicely faired with a NACA shape?
3) In my experience thin plywood bottoms oil can a bit underway...how is this prevented?
4) What are the estimated man-hours for the GIS minus the rig and oars.

I think Storer's lug sail is the most beautifully proportioned one I've seen, perhaps along side Oughtred's lug on his Arctic Tern. And the skiff looks pretty. I worry about the slamming that may happen, even with good helmsmanship. I don't have a lot of skiff sailing experience but some in race boats which have certainly slammed. Perhaps some can comment on the inevitable slamming problem with respect to the GIS in particular.

I'll have more Q's I am sure. Thanks.

Cheers,
Clint Chase

CCBB
18th May 2008, 11:03 AM
I forgot to mention that I would hope to have kids post here as part of the build project...reading/writing/comprehension component!

Daddles
18th May 2008, 11:22 AM
3) In my experience thin plywood bottoms oil can a bit underway...how is this prevented?

Proper design :D (serious answer actually, but Mik'll expand on it)

Can't answer for the other quesions. How old are the kids?

Richard

(warn 'em, we don't take kindly to SMS speak :wink: but kids are always welcome, especially when getting into building stuff :2tsup:)

CCBB
18th May 2008, 11:41 AM