PDA

View Full Version : Hardwood Furniture

silentC
6th February 2004, 10:54 AM
I have a question for anyone who has experience making furniture from Australian hardwoods. The ones I'm using are Blackbutt and Bluegum.

I'm making a bathroom vanity. The cabinet is frame and panel and made from the blackbutt. The top will be bluegum. I've seen some finely crafted benchtops made from hardwood turn into horribly twisted messes after a couple of years, especially in wet areas. I'm reconciled to the fact that the bluegum is probably going to move, but what I want to know is how to minimise it?

The sections I have are 40mm by 250mm. They are milled from old hardwood bearers, so it's pretty well seasoned by now. Would it be best to make the top by laminating the full-sized sections side by side, or would it be more stable if I ripped it down and laminated it rotated 90 degrees?

Anyone done this? Any opinions?

TOMARTOM
6th February 2004, 11:16 AM
I have little experience with australian hardwoods, limited to tas myrtle and jarrah which seem to be reasonably stable in service, although where there has been either sap or splits in the wood I would use a good quality epoxy and mix with a bit of graphite powder to resemble sap, and use it for gap filler, and minimising any movement thereafter.

regards

tony

DaveInOz
6th February 2004, 12:41 PM
I've no experiance so feel free to ignore this but ...

to me it would be an idea to sit the pieces in the bathroom for a few weeks before joining them. Let them acclimatise to the high humidity in the bathroom and do their initial big movement before they are joined.
i would also join the boards with alternate grain direction, that is end grain pointing down, then end grain pointing up to try to minimise the effect of movement.
Then use those joins that allow for table top movement.

Remember this could all be crap as I'm only guessing.

silentC
6th February 2004, 12:50 PM
Tony,