PDA

View Full Version : router won't keep setup height

boxerjan
2nd June 2008, 11:49 PM
Thanks for any and all help! I have a Worx WX15RT Plunge router. I'm trying to set it up in my Triton router table. No problems doing that except the bit won't stay at the height I set it at. While routing it shifts on its own in either direction (higher/lower). I've made sure that all height adjustments both coarse and fine are tight but it still won't work. I've spent 2 days working on this problem and I'm quite frustrated. I'm also very new to this so perhaps all routers do this? Anyone have any ideas? I've read that there is a plunge spring in a Triton router that gets removed, perhaps there is one in this router that I should remove. Any ideas how to do that? I'll only ever use this as a table router.:~

Ron Dunn
2nd June 2008, 11:51 PM
Is it the router bit moving in the collett, or the router body moving?

boxerjan
2nd June 2008, 11:57 PM
I've tried pushing and prodding both bit and body (power off) but frankly I can't really tell. I've watched the bit when switched on but it seems to be okay. I can run one 15 cm wide pine board through for a straight cut and part way through a second board the height changes continually.

rayintheuk
3rd June 2008, 12:07 AM
I've tried pushing and prodding both bit and body (power off) but frankly I can't really tell.
Fit a cutter and tighten it. Make a small mark on the shaft with a scribe or craft knife blade. Do a couple of cuts.

If the cutter moves out of the collet, you'll see your mark further from the collet nut.

If you can't see your original mark, make another one, then remove the bit - you should now see two marks if the bit has moved into the shaft.

Either way, it will tell you if the bit is moving. If it is, I'd suspect that you're not tightening it enough. HTH :)

Ray.

watson
3rd June 2008, 12:10 AM
G'day boxerjan,