PDA

View Full Version : Waldo's coping sled

Waldo
27th June 2008, 10:21 PM
G'day,

This is my first time, I'm no longer a vergin (changed spelling so as not to bring Forum into disripute - and I couldn't think of another meaning for the word) I did it, I finally made a jig for my router table.

I'd been looking at the Infinity coping sled, for a short while I thought about buying one, but then I figured I could make one. I already had a few bits from when I made my r/table, namely the Incra Mitre Slider 450mm, which I had bought in preparation of making a different jig altogether.

My first thought was what material to make the sled base from. I thought about aluminium plate, but it'd be pricey and I wanted a decent size, so I went shopping for a plastic chopping board. It had to be perfectly true on all axis, so there I was in a House shop, pulling out all the chopping boards and looking at them individually. Finally I found one 450mm x 295mm x about 15mm. :2tsup:

So after near a whole day today carefully measuring and tapping all holes with a M5 tap I finally had it near finished. Near finished, because I now have to work out if I put in a sliding fence to clamp on the left side of the stock. I'm not sure if it needs one, if I do (see pic 3) I'll route two slots on the underneath where I've roughly marked in blue, with the toggle clamp roughly where it is now.

I did forget one thing, to drill two access holes for a the track adjustment. I can easily do that tomorrow. (that's also the reason that the track runs out from underneath the sled to the right, the one of the adjustment holes falls a bout 5mm to the right of the acylic, to the other side by about 5mm is one of the fastening points into the track)

Cliff Rogers
27th June 2008, 11:20 PM
Hmmm.... noice.... :think:

What does it do? :?

Waldo
28th June 2008, 12:13 AM
Jig for holding stock while I cut rail and stiles.

Big Shed
28th June 2008, 12:17 AM
Jig for holding stock while I cut rail and stiles.