PDA

View Full Version : Starters Kit

newbee
24th February 2004, 04:06 AM
I am a wannabe. I have never done woodworking before, but seems interesting. I have seen starters kits for other hobbies like painting, stitching etc. They come with raw material, tools, instructions etc.

Does anyone know if there are such beginners kits available for woodworking too? I would like to know my level before I invest in this hobby.

Any other help for a starter also welcome. Thanks

DarrylF
24th February 2004, 06:25 AM
Buy yourself a book. 'The Practical Woodworker' by Stephen Corbett is a really good one to kick off with - does the basics and then goes beyond it, and has some projects as well. You'll get it at any decent bookstore.

Read the book, start a project and just buy the tools you need as you need them - hopefully reasonable quality, nothing worse than being a newbie trying to fix the faults of cheap tools.

AlexS
24th February 2004, 07:31 AM
Trend Timbers (Windsor, NSW) produced some box kits - might be worth talking to them.

Tonyz
24th February 2004, 08:13 AM
If we knew where you lived ie 'Location' we could possibly point you in the direction of clubs or such like OK

dale
24th February 2004, 08:32 AM
I was lucky in that my father in law owned a large selection of tools. Being more of a renovator that a woodworker (sorry guys! I'll get there one day!) I found that my most favourite tool was a sliding compound-mitre drop saw.

Made me realise that working with wood could be a precision occupation/hobby. Unlike the lessons I learnt from using handtools in woodworking class at school.

outback
24th February 2004, 09:47 AM
I'd just like to endorse Daryl's suggestion.
I received this book at Christmas after I started to get serious about wrecking perfectly good pieces of wood.
It starts with the real basics including tools and requirements, but moves onto the next level

DaveInOz
24th February 2004, 03:35 PM