PDA

View Full Version : G'day from whitewood

whitewood
14th July 2008, 09:26 AM
I have been forum member for just over a year. I do not class my self as a wood worker but over my life time I have made a few pieces of furniture, finished off the construction of a Hartley 14.5 foot runabout and completed numerous DIY construction projects in the various homes we have lived in and generally love wood. I get a lot of pleasure looking and admiring the work and skills of other members when shown on the forum. I have no background in wood working and drove a desk for 40 years in the public service.

I tell people I have gypsy in my blood as I have since adulthood lived in Brisbane, Townsville, Cairns, Seychelles, Gold Coast and now Tyalgum. Since my marriage I have called about 16 houses home and owned 5 of them. I was married in 1963 to my current wonderfull wife . I have 3 daughters and 4 grandaughters plus 1 grandson. My health is good so long as I continue to keep prostate cancer at bay. (Get a little prick it may save your life if your over 40.)

In 1998 I decided to top up my super fund and grow Paulownia. I sold up my Gold Coast home and bought land at Tyalgum and started farming Paulownia trees. My biggest concern was that the big end of town would get in first and flood the market. The realality is they folded and I and a few other small growers were left with the job of marketing a timber that was not well known in Australia and if it was it was hard to find.