PDA

View Full Version : Cypress Advice Needed

Chipman
15th July 2008, 11:54 PM
Hi all,

Tomorrow, I am having some trees cut down... One is a Cyprus all dark green much like a christmas tree about 6 m tall and 300mm across at the base ...it was a pot plant but was planted in the garden too close to the power lines. If I want to use it for wood turning, what should I do with it?

Cut into lengths and seal the ends,

Slab it

Quarter or halve it

Turn up some bowl blanks green and allow it to season

Advice greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Chipman:)

Rum Pig
16th July 2008, 08:52 AM
Hi Chipman

First let me say I'm no expert but I will tell you what I think I know:rolleyes:
The most important thing is to seal the end grain as quick as possible.
I cut the tree into manageable size logs and paint the end grain on site if possible. Then when I get home I look at the logs and see what I might wont to do with them if they are small I leave them if they are big and can see a big bowl or two I split them in two,
I would then leave them as half logs until you were getting close to using them that way if some end cracks appear you can cut them out.
It may vary depending on the environment were you live if it is dry then they will crack quickly but if it is humid they should be a bit slower as for how Cypress will go I cant say as I have never chop one down but I do treat all logs the same.

I hope this helps a little:)
good luck:2tsup:

Chipman
16th July 2008, 09:00 AM
Hi Chipman

First let me say I'm no expert but I will tell you what I think I know:rolleyes:

I hope this helps a little:)
good luck:2tsup:

That is a lot more than me! :2tsup:

Thanks for the advice

Chipman

OGYT
16th July 2008, 09:35 AM