PDA

View Full Version : Is my motor dying ?

turnerted
17th July 2008, 06:06 PM
Hi
I have a 95 model Vickmark 200 delux and the motor seems to be getting weaker and weaker , or I'm getting stronger . I find I can easily stall it . I have just started using my new bowl saver and find I have to use very light cuts and frequently back off or the lathe stalls . It is taking me about 20 minutes to core a bowl rather than 5 minutes as the manufacturer suggest .Roughing down the blank and hollowing out the core takes ages too and this is green wood .
I bought the lathe about 5 years ago second hand "done very little work" . I was a beginner then and it seemed to have heaps of grunt then . Over the last 3 years I probably average about 2 hours turning a day .
The lathe has a Crompton Parkinson motor and I think it says 1100 watts on the lable , A bit hard to read as it is upside down .
My previous experience with crook motors is they produce an electrical burning smell , there is a puff of smoke and they stop .I would pull the motor out and take it along to someone to check it out but I can see that removing it is not going to be easy.It is surrounded on all sides by a metal cupboard and the only access is through the door so I would need to support the motor somehow while I undo the bolts and the holding it in position when I want to put it back looks to be even harder .
I would be greatfull for any advice.

Ted

MICKYG
17th July 2008, 06:13 PM
Ted

If there is no smell you may have a loose belt ?

Regards Mike

woodwork wally
17th July 2008, 08:50 PM
I am not fully ophay with these units but a start run capacitor if fitted could cause symptoms you have discribed Regards Wally

Frank&Earnest
17th July 2008, 11:37 PM
Yep, either one. If it revs up slowly and you can stop it with your hand before it has gone full speed it is the capacitor, otherwise it is probably the belt. Either way, the motor in itself is ok.

Cliff Rogers
17th July 2008, 11:50 PM