PDA

View Full Version : Hello

Denim
23rd July 2008, 12:10 AM
Hi guys,

Have been lurking here for quite a while admiring everyone's handy work and thought it was about time I registered and said hello. I'm 30 years old and spent the first years of my working life as a sheet metal fabricator. My grandfather was a keen cabinet maker (self taught) and I loved watching him create new peices and admired his work greatly. Our family has quite a bit of his furnature and I always felt a desire to follow in his foot steps so here I am.

I have dabbled a litte here and there but nothing too serious or professional. I've never had the space, time or equipment to really challenge myself but I have been very passionate about wanting to make a start and after seeing a few recommendations in this forum I have signed up for a beginners course with Stuart Bywater (starting this Saturday).

I pick things up very quickly so I'm hoping I'll be able to get started relatively soon. I have a very basic knowledge of timber work and the tools and would love to learn more. Please feel free to share any useful webpages or information. In the meantime I'll continue to lurk here until I can show off my first project.

Denim

Ad de Crom
23rd July 2008, 01:07 AM
Hi Denim, welcome on board, good luck with picking up woodworking.
Ad :)

wheelinround
23rd July 2008, 09:01 AM
Hi Denim welcome picking up woodwork :rolleyes: now to do woodwork it take tools so it wont be long before your picking up tools also :D Just make sure they don't belong to others:p Unless offered.

Ray

artme
23rd July 2008, 01:26 PM
:2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:Welcome aboard the fun train Denim.

Where abouts in Bris.?

diana
23rd July 2008, 02:11 PM
Hi