PDA

View Full Version : First castings

Simomatra
28th July 2008, 11:46 AM
Well here goes this is my first attempt at casting some pictures of my moulds both silicone and conduit

79014 These are the ones I made from 25mm electrical conduit, no need for any release with any of the moulds

79015 These are the silicone moulds from Gadget in the US

You can see the dark pigment was but in both mixes the one that stayed dark was mixed in clear coat and the other in a two pack resin that turned white while setting and took the coloyr out of the pigment. The same happened with the red. The white one was done with vivid green and purple poster pigment which did not work. It will be interesting to see how they turn.

As I said in the pressure pot post of Big Sheds I have more resin and pigments coming

79016 79017 79018 79019 79020 79021
79022 79023

Buzz
28th July 2008, 01:05 PM
Lokking good Sam, some nice colours there.:2tsup: The silicone molds from Gadget are great, I got a set myself a couple of months ago.

Big Shed
28th July 2008, 02:13 PM
Looking good Sam, can't wait to see what is inside those sticks!:2tsup:

Simomatra
28th July 2008, 02:59 PM
OK, I have turned one of the blue blanks and the gold has not penetrated so that is something to play with in the new pour. The blue has put a speckled effect throughout the blank. It turned well so I am happy with that.

Here is a picture with it still in the lathe.

handyrn
28th July 2008, 03:07 PM
I like the color of the blue, reminds me of a robin's egg. It is cheerful:U

Simomatra
28th July 2008, 04:39 PM
This is the finished pen not so bad for a first attempt.

Cindy you have named the colour for me Robin's Egg TY

Open for comments good or bad.

ss_11000
28th July 2008, 05:09 PM
it looks great Sam:2tsup:

Undecided on wether the 'specks' look good.:shrug:

cheers

Buzz
28th July 2008, 06:12 PM
I too like that colour. Very nice. :2tsup:

rodl
28th July 2008, 06:41 PM
The blue looks good