PDA

View Full Version : First Post - Need Help

Bears Den
2nd March 2004, 06:21 PM
Hi Guys/Gals -- I am from the US and I have admired some of my overseas brethren woodworking for some time now so I figure why not join an overseas ForuM! I am a moderatly advanced woodworker and I build benches for fly tiers and flyfishermen. I have a recent project that i am a bit stumped on. I have no formal training and am all self taught. Would anyone be interested in helping me with my design? I really want to make it look nice and would love the opinion of an expert!!
Thanks

rodm
2nd March 2004, 06:49 PM
Hi Bear
Welcome to the forum. Perhaps if you post a couple of pictures of what you have made already I'm sure there will be plenty of comment.

Bears Den
2nd March 2004, 07:01 PM
I can post a picture of what I am conceptualizing. Maybe that will help. I have yet to build it and I am looking to make it perfect.
Thanks

Bears Den
2nd March 2004, 07:05 PM
I should give a few details. The bench is for storing equipment and supplies for a fly tier. The construction will be made from furniture grade plywood. The containers on te left are plastic and the drawers on the right are wood. The front portion should fold up in the front to make this an enclosed box for traveling and storage. Hope this helps. My problem is making the front close up - have it look nice and have drawer pulls on the front of drawers that wont get in the way.
Thanks

Arron
2nd March 2004, 10:00 PM
Bear mate, I love your design. I have been sitting here trying to fault it for a while but cant find anything I dont like.

I wish I had of had something like this when I was fly tying. Now the last 2 years of drought has pretty much wiped all our trout out so I dont need one anyway.