PDA

View Full Version : Protecting blades from rust

elanjacobs
3rd August 2008, 08:37 PM
Hi all

I'm relatively new to the Japanese tool scene and I'm wondering what the best way to stop rust on my chisel blades is (preferably without oiling them after each use). I've noticed that they seem to rust much quicker than western blades - is this because of the steel or just my poor storage?

Thanks in advance

Des.K.
3rd August 2008, 11:50 PM
Hi and welcome.

We don't do anything special to our chisels, saws or plane blades to stop rust, but here they're all used daily all day, so rust probably doesn't have a chance to form. I use both Western and Japanese chisels and planes, and I really haven't noticed any real difference in how quickly the rust gremlins attack. Humidity is sky high at the moment, and I still don't have a problem with rust.

The main thing is, I think, to pack the chisels away after use and not leave them out in the open if possible. You should also make sure you wipe off any sweat or other hand marks where you've touched the metal blade section at the end of the day. Also a light wipe with some oil every now and then certainly would be welcomed by the chisels.

Regards
Des

Claw Hama
4th August 2008, 12:38 AM
My mate So who sells Japanese tools in Sydney said I should clean off any varnish and rub my hands over my tools so they get that fine blackish purple stain on them it has a special name that I can't remember. It's the japanese name for black patina. I would only oil them if they were getting thick brown rust. Do you live near the beach? If you do that might mean you need a little more oil perhaps.

yojimbo
4th August 2008, 01:42 AM
Nice tip, Hama -- never heard that. (Also am useless in remembering the name of that patina... all I keep coming up with is kasumi, which is all wrong.)

I live in a high humidity area, surrounded by salt water (yes, I'm trapped on a desert island... naw), and I find the rust builds up fairly quickly.