PDA

View Full Version : Turning Green Wood

Robbo1954
6th August 2008, 08:22 PM
Hi All,
I'm new to wood turning and have been turning for about 11 months. At first I was unsure if I would be any good at it but always wanted to try. I started with a GMC and have now moved to the carba tec mc1100A.

I have made a number of bowls, lidded boxes and pot pourri containers. I managed to source some wood from a neighbour (a tree he was cutting down) I believe it is blood wood.

I have cut and sealed the logs, but I have not been able to resist turning some. It is easy enough to turn but obviously it is shrinking and changing. The pot pourri bowls need to be re turned as the bowl shrinks around the lid. My question is....Is there a way to speed up the drying or to minimise the shrinking? How long should the wood be stored before using? This particular wood was cut about 6weeks ago

Cheers
Chris

thefixer
6th August 2008, 10:43 PM
Hi All,
I'm new to wood turning and have been turning for about 11 months. At first I was unsure if I would be any good at it but always wanted to try. I started with a GMC and have now moved to the carba tec mc1100A.

I have made a number of bowls, lidded boxes and pot pourri containers. I managed to source some wood from a neighbour (a tree he was cutting down) I believe it is blood wood.

I have cut and sealed the logs, but I have not been able to resist turning some. It is easy enough to turn but obviously it is shrinking and changing. The pot pourri bowls need to be re turned as the bowl shrinks around the lid. My question is....Is there a way to speed up the drying or to minimise the shrinking? How long should the wood be stored before using? This particular wood was cut about 6weeks ago

Cheers
Chris

G'day Chris