PDA

View Full Version : Turning lessons with , AKA Spindle Master

jefferson
8th August 2008, 10:25 PM
Some of you might know that I spent Wed-Thurs with down at Tooradin, Vic. The tutoring was arranged after a late evening plea on my part (after yet another piece flew off the chuck, following on from some dig-ins with the skew chisel).

First up, it was a big two days. Lots of talk and questions/answers and cup after cup of tea! Add in a meat pie or two.

But just a rendition of the 2 days isn't going to do justice to what was achieved. I'm hoping that others out there in the "turning-learning" phase get something out of this message. And maybe some of the more experienced turners too.

As a self-taught turner of no ability, I can say that took me thru the A-Z of turning - sharpening, spindle turning, lidded boxes and bowls, design, techniques with plenty of tricks and secrets along the way. (I won't divulge all, if you want that, go and see ). Reading books and watching DVDs only go so far.

The novice in me appreciated the one-on-one, with 's gentle hand on my chisel handle, leading the way to find the bevel and the right way to cut. It took some time, as I was that nervous - my usual dig-in rate with the skew was maybe 1 out of six per bead. That increased to a dig-in per bead.

So handed me the spindle gouge to roll a few beads and I got my confidence back. He had me turning both left and right handed in no time. Sure, there's a long way to go but in time I will turn both hands. Practice, practice.

In all, a great experience. Master spindle turner he may be, but also knows a thing or two about boxes and bowls.

And yes, I was amazed about his equipment. I forget exactly, but a bed over 25 feet long must be seen to be believed.

So if you are learning, give a ring. If you're not close, try someone else. You can waste a lot of time and timber without expert direction.

And thanks , I'll be back for a refresher "advanced" course soon.

Jeff

RufflyRustic