PDA

View Full Version : G'day- another newie newbie

bollie7
14th August 2008, 08:23 PM
G'day all, I've just joined the forum even though I'm not really a woodworker. ( I have ownerbuilt a house and done a few reno's but we all know thats not real woodworking) Anyway, I'm a metalworker (mainly machining and a bit of fab) and this is the only aussie forum I've found that's even remotely related to metal working. (I've found the metal work section.) I don't do much woodworking because I get all sorts of sinus related problems when I come into contact with most types of wood dust and I reckon if I have to wear a mask all the time to do a hobby its not worth it. Also I'm pretty good at turning timber into fire wood but thats about it. I do appreciate the amount of effort that goes into most of the projects people get into.

regards
bollie7

Mollywood
14th August 2008, 08:49 PM
G'day bollie7,

Welcome.
I'm a novice woodcarver. There's no wood dust in carving, (unless you use power tools), so maybe you could give that a try.
With your metal work skills you might even be able to make some carving tools.

This is a great site for communing with like minded souls, and a great wealth of info.

:welcomeani:

watson
14th August 2008, 09:09 PM
G'day Bollie7,
enjoy the place, and even the woodies here eventually have to get into a bit of metal

BobL
14th August 2008, 09:17 PM
Firstly a welcome to Bollie7!

There's no wood dust in carving, (unless you use power tools), . . . .