PDA

View Full Version : Before I order GIS plans...

colinml
21st August 2008, 07:08 AM
A few questions.

1. I'm a professional woodworker who hasn't built a boat before but I have done similar sorts of work in other applications (guitar making, sculpture, furniture making). I have a complete shop with enough heated indoor space. I plan to work full time until it's done. What's a realistic time frame?

2. Is there any advantage to ordering plans direct, rather than downloading the PDF?

3. I'm a novice sailor. I intend to use this boat to improve my skill, and I hope that it will be a boat that will provide me a lively challenge for some years to come. From what I have read, the liveliness won't be a problem, but I am a little concerned that this is going to be a little too lively for a novice who will do most of his sailing solo. Is my concern unfounded? I anticipate regularly finding myself on the lake in 5-15 knot, shifting, and gusty wind. But at other times, when things are not so gusty, I would like to be able to take my wife and two kids out for a sail and feel stable. Is this the right boat for that?

Thanks,
Colin

colinml
21st August 2008, 01:08 PM
Sorry...nevermind.

I just found the other posts that answered my questions.

Silly me.

Boatmik
22nd August 2008, 12:09 AM
Hi Colin,

The GIS was not originally designed as a single hander, but a number are being used that way. You can either reef the sail or put sandbags under the centre seat if it is too lively in the early stages.

David Graybeal did the same, but over time started discarding the sandbags depending on the strength of the wind and how confident he was feeling as he built more experience.

Best wishes
Michael

colinml
22nd August 2008, 04:55 AM