PDA

View Full Version : Hello from the frigid north!

zac_in_ak
31st August 2008, 08:33 AM
Hi All

I live in Anchorage Alaska USA its not that cold yet only 40-50s. I am a wanna be luthier and have almost no experience in woodworking but have been learning along the way. I have lots of fun trying to build ukuleles..so far one down and on number 2 both from kits. I hope to learn enough to try my hand at scratch building soon! I love hand tools and simpler and safer alternatives to modern machinery( small kids and building on a kitchen counter in my apt).

les88
31st August 2008, 08:39 AM
Hi zac_in_ak
We have a TV show down here "The Ice Road" with that amount of cold you have it is properly your main street
Show us some pics of your results
Where I live it only goes to -8 or -10 but still too cold for me to work in the workshop:2tsup::2tsup:
les

zac_in_ak
31st August 2008, 09:06 AM
Thank fully I live further south but my friend works up there and he says when it gets really cold (-100) they just try to keep equipment from freezing solid:o it normaly only gets down to -20 or so most of the time its warmer but sometimes it can get colder. Once it was past -50 and people had to get heaters and put them under there cars to thaw the oil!

Shutterbug
31st August 2008, 09:34 AM
Hi zac_in_ak,

I visited Anchorage back in 1974. I got talking to a weathered old lady in the street dressed head to foot in Buckskins. She lived up in the hills somewhere and came in to town once a month to get provisions. I bet it's not like that anymore.

I went to a cafe to have something to eat, and after looking at the menu the waitress came over. I said to her, "What's Halibut?" She looked at me like I was a Martian.

Mike

zac_in_ak
31st August 2008, 09:46 AM
Hi zac_in_ak,