PDA

View Full Version : Jig or Freehand

Ed Reiss
31st August 2008, 12:44 PM
Hi All...

Just out of curiosity (ain't that something that kills cats?), how many of you use some kind of jig to get a good grind on your gouges and scrapers, or do you freehand it?

Whichever way, are you satisfied by the results?

I've been freehanding it for the past 26 years...maybe the grinds ain't pretty but they sure do cut! I am very satisfied doing it this way.

Cheers,
Ed :D

DJ’s Timber
31st August 2008, 01:11 PM
Freehand with or without the toolrest for me

Toasty
31st August 2008, 01:24 PM
Jig, very satisfied.

Gil Jones
31st August 2008, 01:26 PM
I use the Oneway Wolverine system, and the Vari-grind jig for fingernail grinds.
It works well for me, and it is very repeatable.
http://www.oneway.ca/sharpening/grind_jig.htm
http://www.oneway.ca/sharpening/vari-grind.htm

Hickory
31st August 2008, 01:46 PM
Freehand, but by all means, with the toolrest...

derekcohen
31st August 2008, 03:04 PM
Hi Ed

Freehand on a disk sander. 120 grit and you are sharp enough. Touch up on 240 grits and it can shave hair. The high speed is safe with HSS steel.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a262/Derek50/Sharpening/Honinglathechisel.jpg

If you are getting good results, why change?

Regards from Perth

Derek

Ad de Crom
31st August 2008, 07:30 PM
Ed, freehand grinding of all my tools. I build my own disc grinder and it works for me very well, and more important very safe.

Ad

Skew ChiDAMN!!
31st August 2008, 07:36 PM
Freehand.

I do prefer to use a tool-rest though - purely for the safety factor. There's a lot of distractions around here and having a toolrest gives the tool somewhere to safely slam into besides jamming between the wheel and guard... :-

Also... there are some tools that really need to be jig ground to achieve maximum performance. But those are tools I usually class in the "gimmick" category and haven't bothered buying anyway. :rolleyes:

bowl-basher
31st August 2008, 07:47 PM