PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania---USA

Gusbub
31st August 2008, 03:40 PM
Greetings, all.
I've been a lurker here---mostly @ the box making forum---for a couple of years and just now finally decided to up and join officially.
I am a novice woodworker who started out as a DIY'er when my wife and I bought our first home 3 years ago. Being the ambitious sort, I couldn't stop at just simple household projects and began to get more involved in the craft---thanks in large part to the outstanding work I see here.
My ambition has carried me to dabbling in box making and rudimentary furniture.
I enjoy woodworking so much that I left my previous (fairly well-paying, but mind-numbingly boring) job to take on an apprenticeship with a custom cabinet maker.
All the work is done by hand. It's a fair amount to learn, but I couldn't be happier.
I find more contentment and peace of mind in the shop than just about anywhere and feel lucky to have a job that I actually enjoy.
I mention all of this as a roundabout way of saying 'Thank You' to everyone who contributes here for the inspiration and the help in keeping the creative fire burning.
It has truly led me down a greater path.

---Tom

Colin Howkins
31st August 2008, 04:08 PM
Well, Gusbub, I hope things are good in Pittsburg. Things are great here in Brisbane Australia

In a similar state to yourself. I am going through the throes of selling my business so I can spend more time in the shed doing the things I like to do. At 62 I'm probably a bit old to take on an apprenticeship, but I started out with woodwork a little like you.

I found out early on you make somthing really really good for dearly beloved, and that then becomes the entree for you to buy bigger and better equipment I [hope she does not read this thread as it's been working well for 35 odd years]