PDA

View Full Version : G'day from Hughesdale, Victoria

stephenianjames
31st August 2008, 06:47 PM
Hi folks,

I recently stumbled across this terrific forum and thought I'd introduce myself and become part of the action. My name is Steve, and I'm a 33 year old architect.

Over the past 4 or 5 years I've spent most weekends and holidays beefing up the powertool collection and in that time I have renovated/extended/reconfigured a 1930's Californian Bungalow (weatherboard) and subdivided the land and have nearly completed building a 2 storey townhouse at the rear (will be finished by Xmas 2008)

This project was my stepping-stone into the housing market and I hope to move on and purchase a block of land in the Dandenong Ranges and build my dream home (of mainly rammed earth and timber post-and beam construction).

I am obsessed with Bunnings (yep...I know alot of people resent the store, but I love the fact you can duck down there at 8.30 pm weeknights and buy a tool etc) and have originally bought GMC tools for just about everything. Having seen the light I'm slowly replacing the GMC collection with quality tools by Bosch, Makita, Dewalt etc as funds allow and needs dictate.

I'm also wanting to get into making alot of timber furniture from recycled timbers etc for myself and friends etc, but the wife insists that she has a functional kitchen before I take on more projects! I also have to complete my classis car projects (including a Lotus 7 clubman replica and VW Karmann Ghia restoration).

So with a house nearing completion, a shed full of powertools (including my new pride and joy,a Makita LS1013 SCMS) for the next house, and my car projects and love of golf, I look forward to spending my remaining free time exploring this forum.

Thanks for reading my blurb!

Steve

Ad de Crom
31st August 2008, 07:07 PM