PDA

View Full Version : Looking for New Lathe

Clajo92
2nd September 2008, 01:43 AM
Hi everyone,
My name is Joey and I am a amateur Woodworking based in the hills of Perth WA.

I have been doing a bit of lathe work in my pops shed but i have found that my little gmc lathe is not doing much for me as it will not turn centres and will only turn smal bits of wood. I have been having many problems with it and i am now looking to buy a new lathe. As my birthday is coming up soon i have been fortunate enough to make a deal with my parents in what my budget is. which is somewhere round $1500. i want a lathe that has spinning head to allow me to turn big plates and bowls.... and i would like to be able to turn fairly decent bits of wood weight wise. I was just wondering if anyone knew of any reliable brands that fit my criteria. any help and suggestions from people with experience witrh lathe work will be greatly appreciated as i still have lots to learn.

Thanks

Ashes
2nd September 2008, 08:54 AM
Joey,
Welcome!!
I'm sure this will get moved to the woodturning section shortly...

I'm pretty new to turning and what I've found are a few key things to enjoyable turning

- a lathe that doesn't flex or vibrate (most cast bed lathes are OK in this regard)
- a system for keeping your tools sharp (grinder, sanding disk, stones etc. whatever works for you)
- reasonable quality and comfortable to use tools (eg. sufficiently long handles for control)
- good mounting options (eg. scroll chuck, bowl jaws etc)
- quality abrasives (eg cloth backed paper) and finishes

factor all these into your budget and you can't go too far wrong.

mostly though, meeting other turners and learning from them. Books and DVD's are good but spending a few hours with guys who know what they are doing is a real pleasure and I'm yet to meet a guy who hasn't been happy to pass on what they know. If you can hook up with a club you will also pick up a heap of ideas for projects and good advice as well.