PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in need of some advice...

steiner1000
6th September 2008, 03:02 PM
Any advice would be much appreciated. I have been turning for about 3 months and am kind of addicted to it now. But, I am running into a problem... here is what happens.

I glue the tube into the pen blank
I use a barrel trimmer to square the ends (which I double check)
I turn, sand and finish the blank
Then when I go to assemble it, one of the tubes is protruding slightly from the blank...
I then have to trim it again hoping to get it flush.

I do not understand why this happens... again any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Chad

PenmanWA
6th September 2008, 03:31 PM
ive been turning about the same length of time and have come across the same problem a few times. I found that it is because the tubes arent glued properly and when you try and asemble the tubes have slipped a bit. Happens to me mainly when im turning acrylic blanks.

Hope this helps
Brett

corbs
6th September 2008, 03:47 PM
If its happening with acrylic blanks (and to a lesser extent wood) you could be generating too much heat in the sanding process and shrinking the blank on the tube. With acrylic blanks I dry sand to 400 then wet sand to 12000 with acrylic pads or micro mesh.

Corbs

regulated
6th September 2008, 09:00 PM
I agree with corbs. This has happened to me as well, especially with acrylic blanks. I will happen sometimes with wood if the blank is not glued and secured into the mandrel correctly.

BJ

NewLondon88
6th September 2008, 10:10 PM
I agree with the two above.. heat.