PDA

View Full Version : Retaining wall Wood or Stone?

tacofleur
21st March 2004, 11:37 AM
I have no previous experience with retaining walls whatsoever, and hope to find some answers to my questions here.

My main question is, what is the best material to go for, wood or stone?

The wall is about 3 to 4 meters high, and I like to split the wall into 3 or 4 levels, with each level being able to plant plants, i.e. dirt in between the levels.

What is the cheapest to go for?

Thanks in advance.

soundman
21st March 2004, 12:51 PM
Any timber retaining wall will eventually rot, no iff's or butt's. Looking round town here at the moment I'm seeing a number of failed timber retaining walls that would be between 10 & 15 years old.
By the same token I'm also seing some brick ones failing for different reasons. Basicaly bad design.

As don bourke says If you can't step over it you should be getting professional help, at least in the design.

pay attention to structure, drainage, batter & soil type.

bitingmidge
21st March 2004, 05:44 PM
1) Don't do cheap.

2) Don't do wood unless you want to do it again some time in the next five to ten years.

3) Find an engineer and get a design properly drawn.

4) If by stone you mean a nice random stone wall with lovely pointing, get a concrete or reinforced block wall behind it to stick it on, if you mean you want to stack great big boulders on top of each other, fine, but in both cases see 3) above.

Finally, make sure that the wall is properly drained and back filled so that it is there for all time.

The consequences of building a cheap retaining wall can be very expensive indeed!

Sorry to be so stern, but there is no easy way for this one!
Cheers,

P

tacofleur
21st March 2004, 06:16 PM
I definately want to hire a professional to get the job done, any links to websites you can provide?

Can you eleborate on

"make sure that the wall is properly drained and back filled"

Sorry but I'm really new to this, I appreciate your effort.