PDA

View Full Version : What makes a good one?

adrian
23rd March 2004, 05:11 PM
Dumb question number 3,023,345.
Never having tried wood turning (but would like to) I am wondering what makes a good lathe. As I see it, you need a motor that's going to spin a lump of wood around so that you can grind it down to make a pile of woodchips. What sets a $300 lathe apart from a $3000 one. I can understand that horsepower would be a factor when dealing with the start of a rough blank but what makes an expensive one spin better than a cheap one.
What should a beginner look for, ie: lathe that best suits the average length and diametre of blanks for hobbyists who may wish to make bowls and plates.

Woodchuck
23rd March 2004, 05:58 PM
Hi Adrian,

I'm a newbie to turning also but it is addictive. What you say is true, the lathe is mostly for spinning the timber. I would think the quality of the tools you use to shape the timber would be of the greater importance. Least this is what I thought so I bought a cheap lathe & then got HSS tools.

I think the main difference would be in bearings, belts, alignment & finish. The quality of the motor also to a point, but then I have heard some of the cheaper alloy bodied TEFC induction motors are better than locally made ones. I don't know this for certain as I've just read it somewhere at some point.

Features could be important to you also depending on what you intend to do. Some lathes you need to change belt to set the speed, others use the reeves pully system I think it's called. Then there is the variable speed kind which you can adjust at the twist of a knob whatever speed you need.

I think speed range is important maybe also..something that goes from 500-2000 rpm. Maybe even lower for really big stuff. HP is important depending again on what you do, but torque would be more important I think maybe.