PDA

View Full Version : Chest of drawers as a starter

Chriller
30th September 2008, 03:30 PM
Hi all. I have 3 cupboards which I'm thinking of restoring (see pictures). I'm a novice and just wanted a few thoughts on which one I should start on :? - see pictures.

I'm thinking that with a bit of advice I should start on picture 1A (white cupboards) and then work my way up to picture 3A (inlaid mother of pearl in handles). Not sure what I want to do with them afterwards but would like to build their value and life as a result of the restorations.

Love to hear your ideas .
ta
Chris

munruben
30th September 2008, 04:51 PM
That should keep you out of mischief for a while..Lets see some pictures of WIP.

astrid
30th September 2008, 08:36 PM
There a lot of difference in the value of the white cupboard and the other two.
The white one will give you loads of practice stripping and refinishing that will either make you give up or get a passion for restoring.
Send it to a dipper that uses metholine chloride not caustic and take it from there

The other two are good peices.
have you allready stripped them?
get all the paint off, being careful not to scratch against the grain.
hand sand the mouldings with 240 grit and use a random orbital sander with 240 paper on the top and sides
Be gentle and dont rip away with it.......

On the other hand, forget them for the moment

Look, these are good peices and not really for a beginer.
If i were you, I would get an old kauri pine chest of drawer to practice on.
you can practice stripping, sanding and refinishing on an old but not very valuable piece,
get the feel for the job and not cause too much damage.

I really dont think you should do these without some experience
Theres too many mistakes to be made.
I have no idea of your skill level and a real beginer can make some innocent but truely awful stuff ups.
These pieces in good original condition sell for $3000 plus
best not mess with them untill you've had a bit of practice

Chriller