PDA

View Full Version : Help, please!

bigfish
7th October 2008, 10:13 PM
Hello all.

I purchased a Woodfast lathe from Jim Carroll at the Canberra Wood Show but haven't had a lot of time to "play" with it yet. I've never done ANY woodturning before.

First discovery = dont drop the GPW 4 jaw chuck on one's toe (but better than the concrete floor, methinks!).

First thing I did was turned a slimline pen, blew the first two blanks to pieces, but I'm gonna blame the Brazilian Maple for that. The third (cocbolo) turned out quite well apart from the ends not being square because my barrel trimmer was on backorder. Also, haven't got the knack of Shellawax yet.

But herein lies my problem - when turning (with a roughing gouge), instead of getting lovely fluffy ribbons of shavings, I get small "chips" a millimetre or two wide.

Obviously faulty technique, but where? I haven't got to the guild to borrow some basic dvds or books, yet, but would like to be able to show some improvement.

I'm going to work on some 50x50 Tassie Oak thats been lying around for a few years and I'd rather end up with anything other than sawdust!

Any advice gratefully received.

Cheers,
Alan

funkychicken
7th October 2008, 10:17 PM
Ribbons with a roughing gouge?? You're dreaming:rolleyes:

bigfish
7th October 2008, 10:21 PM

Maybe, but anything would be better than small moon shaped chips.

Or have I got it completely wrong?

funkychicken
7th October 2008, 10:36 PM
Well maybe I'm also doing it wrong because I always get chips. The roughing gouge isn't really a slicing tool

tea lady
7th October 2008, 11:15 PM

I think you might actually have it right. Or at least not to far wrong. Are you doing the rubbing the bevel then lifting the handle till the edge is cutting? Or just shoving it in like a scraper? Which works, but ...:rolleyes:.

Manuka Jock
7th October 2008, 11:43 PM

Alan ,
list the tools you have and photos if possible , and maybe someone will be able to give you some guidance .