PDA

View Full Version : Tage Frid Teaches Woodworking Set

Rattrap
11th October 2008, 09:24 AM
I just received an email from fine woodworking/ taunton store for a set of books & DVD, i'm sure some of u got the same offer.

"Tage Frid Teaches Woodworking Set New! Commemorative Limited-Edition Tage Frid Set Plus Bonus DVD

Tage Frid Hardcover Set with DVD $89.95"

Very tempting but i'd like to know what others think. I'm still new to woodworking & this sort of thing could be quite useful.

TomH
11th October 2008, 09:35 AM
I haven't got a copy (despite numerous christmas requests - they are hard to find...), but from all accounts this is one of the best woodworking books.

jmk89
11th October 2008, 10:33 AM
Yeah, go for it. Lot's of interesting stuff in that set and at $30 a book, it is a steal.

Pat
11th October 2008, 11:08 AM
Got the set, it is a good set of books. Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Tage-Frid-Teaches-Woodworking/dp/1561588261/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1223683778&sr=8-1) has the normal set for US$56.67 . . .

Rattrap
11th October 2008, 04:12 PM
ordered via amazon. Taunton wanted $43 for postage & handling - i don't think so!

Rattrap
15th October 2008, 09:28 PM
Ok, new email, new fine woodworking offer that i'm finding hard to resist. if they don't stop sending me tempting emails i'm gonna go broke. lol.
This time its the first 201 issues of fine woodworking all on DVD for $150.00 (US booo!)
I quite like the fine woodworking mag & often buy a copy & this sounds very tempting.
I'd love to hear peoples opinions on this offer before i dive in.

Mr Brush
20th November 2008, 12:52 PM
IMHO Fine Woodworking (in common with many organisations in the US of A) don't really understand any countries outside the 12 mile limit....I've found them pretty hopeless at actually getting stuff here in a timely manner.