PDA

View Full Version : Hints for doing jobs bigger than table?

John H
7th November 2008, 05:20 PM
A mate of mine wants some stuff CNC'd into his wooden tailgate for his ute.

As my table is only small, it will need to be done in three lots of machining, moving the area to be machined onto the table with each go.

The job is two lines of writing and I'll be using VCarve Pro to generate the G-Code

I've never done this before so I'm after some hints on the best way of doing it. i.e. aligning and setting up each machining operation so I don't screw up the spacing in the words.:oo:

John H
7th November 2008, 06:22 PM
Here is a preview of the Job

namtrak
7th November 2008, 06:25 PM
Looks great, what a lucky bloke to be getting such a cool tailgate!! I bet his ute looks a million dollars!!

John H
7th November 2008, 07:08 PM
Heh :D ...as long as I don't screw up the tailgate :doh:

Greolt
7th November 2008, 07:29 PM
John I take it the lettering is larger than your table.

Just lay out the job in Vcarve with the origin in the centre, then break the lettering into two pieces. Make a toolpath for each section.

Mark the origin (0,0) on the job. In the centre.

First setup has the origin at one end of the table. Set the X and Y zero on the mark. Cut the first toolpath.

Move the job so that the origin is now at the other end of the table. Set the X and Y zero again on the mark. Cut the second toolpath.

I have saved a Vcaeve file at this link. This forum has very (ridiculous) small file upload limits.

http://web.aanet.com.au/greolt/Floorsanding.crv

Hope that makes sense. :)

Greg

John H
7th November 2008, 08:31 PM
Hi Greg,

Thanks for the reply. That makes perfect sense.

But, I need to do this job in three operations as the text is about three times longer than my table. So I don't think this method will work here.

I have filed away your method for any jobs that can be done in two table lengths though :)

Greolt
7th November 2008, 09:10 PM