PDA

View Full Version : Sherwood Table Saw

Stubchain
9th April 2004, 02:23 PM
I have been using a modified Ryobi 10" table saw for the past 6 months. I made a frame to enlarge the top.

I'm pretty much an amature compared to some people on this forum, the forum is great by the way.

Now I have started to think I need something a bit better than the Ryobi, I'm looking at buying a Sherwood Table Saw for around $850. Does anyone have one of these and are they OK. A bit of advice will be appreciated.

Regards Keith

Robert WA
9th April 2004, 02:50 PM
What model Ryobi?

They made a very good tablesaw, with a useful fence and a sliding table on the left side. It was sold in Oz but seems now to be off the market. A newer version is available in the US and in Europe.

They also make a cheap and tinny tablesaw, with a terrible fence. I have seen it for sale at Bunnies recently for $400 ish.

If yours is the 1st type, hang on to it. If it is the 2nd type, I hope it was given to you.

I think Sherwood is an in-house brand name used by Timbecon or similar. My guess is that it will be an Asian made tablesaw and that its twins with different paintwork will be available at Carba-tec, MIK etc. I have something similar, a 12 inch blade, originally bought from Carba-tec in Perth and, once tuned up properly and fitted with a good fence, it is a good unit.

Shop around. The saw you are looking at may be cheaper down the road. Check the fence. Is it, and does it stay, parallel to the mitre slots and to the blade? Is it easy to move along its track? Is it straight along its length and is its face vertical?

Have a look at some name brand units to make a comparison of the quality. Don't look at the prices.

Come back here often. Tablesaws are the football teams of woodwork forums. Everyone has a favourite. You will get plenty of replies.

Stubchain
9th April 2004, 03:18 PM