PDA

View Full Version : Unwanted spiral when spindle turning

macca2
13th November 2008, 05:08 PM
Lately when doing spindle turning I get this tool chatter which leads to an unwanted spiral effect. This is particularly so when turning dry hard Jarrah.

This happens with both the gouge and the skew.

What am I doing wrong. Is it the way I have sharpened the tools, or am I holding my mouth wrong.

Thanks Macca

wheelinround
13th November 2008, 05:14 PM
To far from the work with the tool rest overhang of skew/gouge Macca or height of tool rest

Mind some times the chatter looks great as an effect on work :2tsup:

tea lady
13th November 2008, 05:25 PM
Might be rubbing the bevel a little toooooooooo hard. (not that I'm an expert. :rolleyes:) Sharpen chisel a bit more often so you don't want to push so hard?:hmm:

macca2
13th November 2008, 05:33 PM
Thanks for the quick replies.
I have been fooling around with the lathe setup. As you know it is set on angle to allow me to turn from the chair.
I have changed the angle at which it is set and this has probably effected the tool rest height.
The tools are nice and sharp. The gouge at about 40 degrees. How does that sound.

Macca

wands
13th November 2008, 07:40 PM
G'Day Macca,

You may also need to look at supporting the piece if it long and especially if it is thin. You can get the piece wobbling, thus it needs support from your spare hand, tricky to do, but it does help or get a three point steady for it, such as:
http://www.woodfast.com.au/index.php?p=1_5
Scroll to the bottom of the page.

Cheers, Steve

Manuka Jock
13th November 2008, 08:16 PM
Scroll to the bottom of the page he says ...
Struth , I had trouble gettin' past the big lump of wood at the top :D

thefixer
13th November 2008, 09:57 PM
G'day Macca