PDA

View Full Version : wood filler

db21
13th April 2004, 03:08 PM
Hello,
I am new at refinishing wood floors. we do alot of old houses.
when its time to use a filler the guy thats teaching me the ropes uses the fine dust from sanding and mixes it with a little poly finish and cornstarch. it never works.his father was in the business for 30 years(I would loved to have met him) so i figure he must have seen him make this filler but tom just doesnt have it right. what is his trying to do ? does anyone know how to make a filler using the sanddust that i could trowel over the floor prior to my finish paper. please help! thanks

journeyman Mick
14th April 2004, 12:14 AM
I've seen filler made with PVA glue but I don't loke using it as on a lot of our timbers the PVA reacts and you get black stains. I've had success mixing sawdust with nitrocellulose lacquer, this forms a quick drying putty a lot like a product that used to be sold as "plastic wood". You'd have to make sure that it was compatible with your floor finish though. I don't know why he's using cornstarch, if anything he's probably better off using "whiting"- cacium carbonate which is used to make glaziers putty (with linseed oil). Good luck,

Mick

outback
14th April 2004, 10:29 AM
I've made filler using PVA glue a few times.
It looks crap
It stains crap
It gives a crap finish
and whats more I don't like it so I shan't do it ever again

silentC
14th April 2004, 11:34 AM
We used to fix splits and cover nail holes in meranti staircase components by mixing PVA and dust from the table sander but you have to sand it while the glue is wet. This only works with certain types of cavity and probably not at all with hardwoods.

derekcohen
14th April 2004, 12:58 PM