PDA

View Full Version : Thinning Araldite

Grumpy John
20th November 2008, 03:53 PM
"Very cool piece GJ! Lots of patience and determination on your part.

For ref., the 5 min. and 30 min. two part epoxy can be thinned with DNA to help it flow into tiny spaces."

The statement above was made by Texian in my Chinese Elm WIP. Just out of interest has any one thinned Araldite using DNA (Metho in Oz).

Does it affect the curing time of the Araldite?

Do you mix the Araldite as usual then add the metho until you have the consistency you require?

Any and all information appreciated.
<!-- / message --><!-- sig -->

Frank&Earnest
20th November 2008, 04:12 PM
AFAIK epoxy is thinned with acetone or xylene (after mixing and yes it slows it down), not metho, but I am no expert. Was that supposed to be paternal or maternal DNA?:D

Grumpy John
20th November 2008, 04:15 PM
AFAIK epoxy is thinned with acetone or xylene, not metho, but I am no expert. Was that supposed to be paternal or maternal DNA?:D

Thanks Frank, same questions apply.

Frank&Earnest
20th November 2008, 04:16 PM
Thanks Frank, same questions apply.
You caught me while I was still editing.:)

Grumpy John
20th November 2008, 04:25 PM
I just got off the dog n bone to Selleys and they recommended Metho or Acetone or a mix of 2 parts toluene to 1 part alcohol. None of these will weaken the bond strength and all are suitable for cleanup before curing.

Frank&Earnest
20th November 2008, 04:45 PM
Thanks for answering your question and mine.:)

Grumpy John
20th November 2008, 05:35 PM
Thanks for answering your question and mine.:)
Sometimes we just get too lazy and depend on others to do our research for us. I know this is the first place I come to for all sorts of information now.

hughie
21st November 2008, 10:46 AM
Aha! just what I needed. This will be very handy with brass powder in crack filling, as CA or super glues goes off too quick in the thin variety and wont fill in the slow gel type.

Skew ChiDAMN!!