PDA

View Full Version : Angle of skewness for the skew chisel

jefferson
24th November 2008, 06:29 PM
This one has been bothering me for some time, at least since gave me some lessons a couple of months back.

's 1 inch skew is not ground at 45 degrees, probably 60 degrees. Two of my skews - the 3/4 and 1 inch - are set at 45, while my 1 1/4 inch and 1/2 inch skews are close to 60.

And yesterday I used my brother's skew, also at maybe 60 degrees. Much easier.

I find the steeper skews harder to use, I don't know why. Less clearance perhaps, but I would be very interested in the math and other people's thoughts.

I would have though it preferable to have the same angle on all of my skews, for repeatability if nothing else.

Jeff

tea lady
24th November 2008, 06:33 PM
45° does seem a bit steep. I think most of the force is supposed to go straight down the tool, so too much of an angle means too much sideways force. :hmm: But hey I'm no expert. :shrug: Where is anyway?:?:D

Skew ChiDAMN!!
24th November 2008, 06:38 PM
I find the steeper skews harder to use, I don't know why. Less clearance perhaps, but I would be very interested in the math and other people's thoughts.

The angle on a skew is a personal thing, more to do with how you use/hold them than anything.

Looking down on the tool, comparing the angle to the lathe bed, the shallower (or "squarer") the angle is on a skew, the further the end of the handle needs to be moved to the right to have the cutting edge presented at the correct angle to the wood.

For paring/roughing down, I like a fairly blunt angle, perhaps 50-55° (at the point) as this leaves the end of the handle tucked close in to my right side while I cut to my left side, which is how I feel most comfortable with it. For detail work, where I cut more... "straight in front of me" I prefer a more acute angle, perhaps 35-40° at the point.

RETIRED
25th November 2008, 12:05 AM