PDA

View Full Version : Help please ... Can I use Jarrah to make a Honey Drizzler?

Interwood
24th November 2008, 07:45 PM
Hi All,

I'm new to wood turning.

SWMBO has suggested that I might try to make some useful kitchen utensils. A honey drizzler, wooden spoons and salad servers have been suggested.

Would it be safe (foodsafe) to make these utelsils out of Jarrah, WA Sheoak or Tasmanian Oak? I have some organoil finish that I've been told is safe for cutting boards. I've also been told that ordinary beeswax is OK to finish the Honey Drizzler with. Is this correct, please?

If these woods are not OK for making these items, what would you suggest please?

Thanks in advance,

Interwood

Manuka Jock
24th November 2008, 07:54 PM
Hi All,

I'm new to wood turning.

SWMBO has suggested that I might try to make some useful kitchen utensils. A honey drizzler, wooden spoons and salad servers have been suggested.

Would it be safe (foodsafe) to make these utelsils out of Jarrah, WA Sheoak or Tasmanian Oak? I have some organoil finish that I've been told is safe for cutting boards. I've also been told that ordinary beeswax is OK to finish the Honey Drizzler with. Is this correct, please?

If these woods are not OK for making these items, what would you suggest please?

Thanks in advance,

Interwood

hallo Intawood ,
olive oil is good for food treen , and after the utensil has been washed , it can be oiled again .
As to the woods themselves , the locals on here will know .

Welcome to the Nut Tree :U

Jock

Skew ChiDAMN!!
24th November 2008, 08:00 PM

WA Sheoak or Tas Oak should be fine. :2tsup: Jarrah... well I can't say that Jarrah isn't suitable, but somehow it's not a wood I would consider food-safe. (Dunno why. :shrug:)

Beeswax is perfectly OK for the drizzler, but be careful when buffing it that you don't catch/break the "discs" off the end. Being very short grained, they don't have much strength.

rsser
25th November 2008, 06:23 AM