PDA

View Full Version : Norm Turning a Bowl

Tankstand
25th April 2004, 04:17 PM
Hi all,

Did anyone watch Norm's episode yesterday 24/4/04?
I'm just starting to learn woodturning and was wondering why was he using the bowl gouge to rough turn the outside of the bowl? Surely a roughing gouge would be the go?

Any thoughts for a newbee?

RETIRED
25th April 2004, 10:27 PM
A roughing gouge is used in SPINDLE turning.

Woodencrux
26th April 2004, 12:25 AM
From what I understand of the two chisels, the design of the bowl gouge better supports the cutting edge when the chisel is pushed along a horizontal surface (side of a bowl) with the flute up. The round cross section of the bowl gouge maintains the cutting surface close to vertically above the point of support with the tool rest so as to minimise the torque generated by a heavy cut. The roughing gouge cannot be used in a simiar orientation due to the design. If the roughing gouge is used on edge to present the bevel to the bowl, the point of contact with the wood is not above the point of support with the tool rest (nor close to it) and may roll if a deep cut is attempted leading to a bad dig in.
That said, try everything with scrap/firewood/green/dry and work out what works for you. I recently heard of a guy that finishes the ouside of bowls with a skew - not as a scraper, but as a cutting edge. Just to add some spice he doesn't rub the bevel!
I am sure some timbers respond differently to a range of chisels, some being more "accommodating" to novel choices.
Certainly green timber is easier to cut through than dry and maybe the width of the shaving from a roughing gouge is faster for the turner you mention.
Have fun and turn safely.
Alan

Jeff
5th May 2004, 04:22 PM