PDA

View Full Version : Loft Bed Idea

.:On The Rock:.
3rd December 2008, 01:39 AM
Hi there. I'm new to these forums, so I'll say a short introduction to myself as well as my main issues.

I'm a seventeen year old from Newfoundland, Canada. My father, who as an engineer, had gotten my attention at an early age of woodworking, construction and all around handywork. I've been playing drums for 10 years and I'm now persuing an undergraduate degree in music. As well, I've been developing some minor skills out in the workshop. I've built a couple of snare drums from scratch (building another as we speak), an electric drumset, a guitar and I'm even as ambitious as to think I can build a cello in the near future (we'll see about that, hah). These things seemed obvious to me as I saw fit to combine the two interests of mine.

I've been fine with my cramped bedroom at my fathers house so far; my bed and desk among other things. What I haven'y been fine with is that my electric drumset is down in my basementm which is only 6' high and floods every three months due to a random failure from the sump pump. So that got me thinking of making a loft bed as to accomidate my sleep, my desk and my drums comfortably.

But I didn't want one of those college dorm lumber messes that "only takes 10 minutes to build(!)". I wanted something that look like it belonged in my dads 90 year old town house. I saw a really nice loft bed a while back (someone from another forum's amazingly small apartment building in Finland). There are no direct pictures of the bed itself, but you can see most of the important things in these pictures:

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c87/Scott_Newfie/SushisLoftBed1.jpg
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c87/Scott_Newfie/SushisLoftBed2.jpg
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c87/Scott_Newfie/SushisLoftBed3.jpg

Now with that, and Google SketchUp at hand, I did my best at 3D rendering this bed into my cozy abode.