PDA

View Full Version : Coffeetable joinery question

Alex99
15th December 2008, 12:37 PM
Hi all,
I'm pretty new to woodworking and am about to finish my first project - a rocker chair.
My next project ia a coffeetable with a solid black walnut tabletop and figured maple legs.
The tabletop wood is ~6cm thick that I plan to cut down to 4cm. The areas where the legs would meet the top should stay 6cm to form a nice transition to the legs. I was planning a mortise-tenon type joint for the leg into the top. After reading a bit more about wood movement, I'm not so sure about this anymore.
Since the table top is solid, I fear that the expected movement of it will quickly mess up the legs position to each other and the tabletop.
Do you have a good suggestion how to join the legs to the tabletop and still keeping the "organic" transition? I would like to NOT use a skirt or some similar framework

Thanks
Alex

Wongo
15th December 2008, 01:59 PM
Like this one? It is the joint to the leg-to-seat joint of your chair.

http://www.woodworkforums.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=91475&stc=1&d=1229309756

Nice chair BTW. Another one of Bill Lindau's chairs?

Alex99
15th December 2008, 02:09 PM
The effect of transition that is used in the chair is what I'm after, but since the legs won't be on the outside like on your sidetable the joint will definitely need to be modified. My thoughts were to do a modifier mortise and tenon joint where the tenon (leg) would be inserted into the thick tabletop underside.
FYI, the chair is based on the plans of Hal Taylor and blended with some Maloof details.

Wongo
15th December 2008, 02:24 PM
That will work.

cellist
15th December 2008, 04:09 PM
Hi all,
I'm pretty new to woodworking and am about to finish my first project - a rocker chair.
My next project ia a coffeetable with a solid black walnut tabletop and figured maple legs.