PDA

View Full Version : Information required on an unknown lathe

Dennis Reeves
2nd January 2009, 11:39 PM
G'day folks, I am a new member who has often visited this site while "surfing" woodwork sites.

I have been dabbling with wood for 40 years and like all boys - never grew up with my wants list. But I have a few tools accumulated over the years and have made Colonial style reproduction furniture which I design myself. Woodturning is something that I have barely played with although I loved it. Out of interest I even tried an American Amersaw router lathe which I still have but only use it for fluting. How unreal can you get! Everyone thought I was so smart doing rope twists. So I claimed credit, shut up, and moved on!

I recently accepted a lathe that was going to be thrown out. I wanted it for a friend who is 87 and loves playing with tools etc. The lathe cleaned up well and appears to work fine. It unfortunately did not have a face plate with it so I am on the lookout for a suitable one.

It is 1000 mm between centres.
356 mm swing diameter
It has a Trademark of SM and I believe its model number is G 1000
I/2 h.p. single phase motor
4 speed: 1700 - 2485 r.p.m
Weight: 36 kg.

Can anyone tell me anything about this brand or lathe?
Thanks heaps if you can

DJ’s Timber
3rd January 2009, 12:03 AM
Welcome to the Forum Dennis

Your best bet would be to identify what size the spindle thread is, then you'd be able to buy an after-market one.

Without seeing it, I'd be guessing that it'd be 1"x10tpi, 1"x8tpi or maybe 3/4" one. Measure the diameter of the thread and then count how many threads there is in an Inch.

I'm just a bit further up from you in East Warbie, if you like I could drop in with some of my inserts to check the size for you.

munruben
3rd January 2009, 12:15 PM
You wont get a better offer than that D R. I can tell you that for nothing. Good onya DJ:2tsup::2tsup:

Dennis Reeves
3rd January 2009, 01:09 PM