PDA

View Full Version : My very first Dish but..

munruben
3rd January 2009, 12:42 PM
Don't laugh, this little platter or Dish whatever you like to call it is my very first attempt to make a Dish. Its pretty simple in design, measuring just 7and 1/2 inches X just 1inch high. (20cm X 2.5cm)
The timber was given to me last week by a guy who said it was Jacaranda. Now it turned okay no problem but ( there is always a but) you can see from the pictures, there is a rough spot on the outer part of the inside of the Dish.
I didn't go to any real lengths to sand the Dish, I was just trying out techniques for the turning process, however I did sand the inside with 160 dry sand paper and then with 240 grit. just to smooth it a little.

The inside was created using a scraper and borrowed bowl gouge. The outside was fashioned with the bowl gouge. Parting tool created the part for the chuck to fit. I just applied some Tung oil for the finish and buffed it a bit on the lathe.

So, the questions, How come the inside of the dish is mostly reasonably smooth but the parts indicated in the picture are not. Did I need to sand it more or is there another reason. Should I have used a different tool to shape the inside? Why is it rough in just those spots and why more so on the inside of the dish only. The outside or underside of the dish has a couple of roughish spots but not as bad as the inside.

Any comments or suggestions welcome but remember, it is my first attempt. so go easy. :)
Seriously, constructive criticism is welcome and all suggestions taken on board.

Chipman
3rd January 2009, 12:53 PM
Hi John,

Congratulations and welcome to the addictive world of bowl turning!:2tsup::2tsup:

Now I am still a newbie so take what I tell you with a grain of salt.....

The rough spots are where you cut across the end grain and is tear out. On the outside it is easier to control your gouge\scraper and easier to sand as well. Also some wood tears out more than others.