PDA

View Full Version : Red Gum Dining Table

Panther
8th January 2009, 09:14 AM
G'Day All
This is my first project, I thought I may as well start big and work my way down. I had alot of fun with this and learnt heaps along the way.
My son is a carpenter just out of his time, he would come along now and then put his head over my shoulder and suggest that the way I'm going about it might not be the best way, walk away and let me have a think about a new approach. Felt like I was doing my apprenticeship all over again.
All rails and legs are mortice and tennon joints.

I would like to thank fellow member Gordon Windeyer for the Triton workbench that he gave me. It came in very handy and would be battling to finish the table without it. Also Wongo for his detailed thread on his table, lots of great ideas I used his Button method to attach the top.

charlsie
8th January 2009, 09:54 AM
what a beautiful looking piece of furniture congratulations:2tsup:

Skew ChiDAMN!!
8th January 2009, 10:02 AM
Ooooh! :2tsup:

Yeldarb
8th January 2009, 01:14 PM
Bloody lovely :)

Chipman
8th January 2009, 02:34 PM
It certainly has the "WoW" factor:2tsup:

Nice wood and great build

Cheers,

Chipman

(is it a 2 or 4 person lift?)

artme
8th January 2009, 05:23 PM
:o:o Bewdiful!!!! :2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:

High benchmark to set for a first project.

BrettC
8th January 2009, 06:11 PM
Love it, great work :2tsup:

Juffy
8th January 2009, 09:04 PM
Great job, really done justice to a stunning piece of timber. As artme said though - what are you going to do for a followup? :)

Peter36
8th January 2009, 09:35 PM
Great table and a beautiful redgum top.How did you machine the 2tsup::2tsup:

Claw Hama
8th January 2009, 10:59 PM
Very nice first project, you have set a high standard to beat next time.

Panther
9th January 2009, 08:07 AM
Hi All