PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and my Clocks

cmmullins
24th January 2009, 04:03 AM
G'day Mates!

I would like to take this opprotunity to introduce myself.

I have been a woodworker most of my life but was unable to 'get into it' like I am now due to making a living for the wife and kids.

I have built a lot of different kinds of projects, so I built all four kids the clock in FWW #171 and #172 as a Christmas gift a few years ago. Needless to say they were a hit! I even got a hug from the sons in law!:B

They were made of black cherry, then stained with General Finishes warm cherry and sealed it with hand rubbed varnish.

My wife painted the faces with oil.

I wanted a clock for myself or maybe to sell so I could buy more material for more clocks. I used black walnut this time since I had some on hand.

I incorporated fluted columns on the waist corners and a deep bevel on the lower base terminated at the bottom with a "Lamb's Tounge". There are Ogee Bracket feet on the bottom.

It has burl veneer on the lower panel and on the door surrounded with quarter sawn veneer bandings around each. The hood door is also veneered with the quarter sawn veneer.

I used a gooseneck moulding on the hood with sides above the side moulding much like an English clock I have pictures of. Under the gooseneck mouldings I utilized fretwork of my own design. It's basically "C" and "S" scrolls. Here a couple of pictures. Again the face was hand painted by my wife.
94716 94717

I plan on starting another clock soon. I have been bitten by the clock bug.

G'day!

Charlie Mullins

masoth
24th January 2009, 07:09 AM
G'day Charlie. Welcome to the best 'little' site on the web. Your pics show beautiful work and I reckon you're lucky to have a wife :2tsup: who joins in your hobby. More posts froom you will be also wecome.

soth

Hobbyhorse
24th January 2009, 11:48 AM
Charlie, just love your work....thanks for showing them and welcome to the forum.

Rhys

ravlord13