PDA

View Full Version : Help - Treating Turning Stock with Pentacryl

Wilson_TN_37086
11th February 2009, 06:06 AM
Help Wanted.

I am new to using Pentacryl.

I have begun to treat several pieces of wood and now I want to solicite any and all who have any experience with this product.

I have the following.

1 - 1.5 X 1.5 X 18 Ebony - Kiln Dried
1 - 1.5 x 1.5 x 18 Birds eye maple - ?
1 - 3 x 3 x 12 Madrone Burl - Green
3 - 1.5 x 1.5 x 12 Pyinma - Green
1 - 1.5 x 1.5 x 18 Tiger Maple - ?

All of these were soaked in water to the directions and then soaked in the pentacrly per the directions as well.

They have been hung to dry (2nd day now)

Does anyone have any idea as to how long I may have to wait till I can begin to turn these.

I am planning to use these pieces for building a couple Pool Cues.

Any comments questions or concerns are welcomed.

Thank You

Rum Pig
11th February 2009, 09:02 AM
I may sound silly asking this but if I don't ask I wont find out

What is Pentacryl:?:?

Grumpy John
11th February 2009, 09:32 AM

What is Pentacryl:?:?

Google is your friend, I always use it when I come across a term I'm not familar with :D.

PENTACRYL
TECHNICAL SHEET
Pentacryl, a compound of Siliconized polymers, was originally developed for the treatment of waterlogged wood. It has since been marketed for woodcarving and woodturning to keep green wood from cracking and splitting. PENTACRYL will not discolor the wood, is non-hydroscopic, will not oxidize, decompose or migrate in the wood when exposed to different degrees of temperature and relative humidity.
Tests have been carried out for over 3 years with excellent results. Many types of wood have been treated including Eastern White Pine, Basswood, Tupelo, Walnut, Applewood, Hawthorne, Cherry, Rock Maple, Soft Maple, Ash, and others. Since fruitwoods are very difficult to dry, we have listed some tips in treating some of these difficult to dry woods later in this write UP.