PDA

View Full Version : walnut log

Daddy3x
22nd February 2009, 06:14 AM
This is my first attempt at just mounting a log and turning it, and I learned quite a bit. Not good, but it was going to a burn pile so I grabbed it up. A new experience having the wings flying around, but it was sure fun. I would like to try and finish it the best I can after it sits in apaper bag for a few weeks and need some advice on sanding it out as it, i do not want to turn it again. There a few internal cracks which were further in that I had anticipated, so decorative epoxy mix will be needed as well, maybe coffee grounds. I like to keep even junky work, I find it helpful to refer back to what not to do the next time.

artme
22nd February 2009, 08:05 AM
First thought to cross my mind when i saw that pic was"must have been a hairy knuckle busting ride"! From what you say it was!!:oo::oo:

Great learning experience and a good result. Should look extra special when finished.:2tsup::2tsup::2tsup:

Looks like lots of time, patience and elbow grease is in order!:D:C

ElizaLeahy
22nd February 2009, 08:31 AM
You don't want to put it back on the lathe? Whyever not?

:U

Somehow, when I look at that, "junk" is the last thing on my mind!!!!!

But I would have loved a video of you cutting it!

Ed Reiss
22nd February 2009, 01:46 PM
lookin' good...pics when finished, please:2tsup:

Daddy3x
22nd February 2009, 02:34 PM
I figure a month oe so in the paper bags should suffice, then put on a radio, get out some sandpaper and spend more than a few hours. Any suggestions for sanding it out in the rounded areas withour making flat spots? Sanding sealer might help things along? Lemme guess...more patience? I spent the weekend at Lyle Jamieson's studio for a basic bowl class, seeing his work shows how little patience I have yet to develop. Most humbling, learned more in 2 days than I would have in year on my own...get the basics down. will be sure to post picture when done.

ralphtaff