PDA

View Full Version : What wood is this?

bellyup
6th March 2009, 02:58 PM
Hello guys,
I found this table when i was ferreting around at the green-waste/tip for timber to feed the lathe.
Could you tell me:
What the timbers are? see pics - the timber for the rails is very one dimensional, I have put some water on to try to bring it to life.
What would the original top have been made from? and what would be a suitable timber to replace the top ?:?
Many thanks,
Bruce.

artme
6th March 2009, 05:11 PM
To me that looks like an old Hoop Pine teacher's desk.
I have one myself, mostly because I'm an old teacher.:D:D:D
Spent time teaching at Bourke Ward in Broken Hill.

bellyup
6th March 2009, 05:59 PM
G'day Artme,
You'll be pleased to know that Burt Ward school is still a beautiful looking old school (though I doubt the kids think so), in fact it even has "snob appeal" with parents outside the precinct trying to get their kids in there using dodgy addresses!!
So tell me , what is your desk top made of?
Thanks,
Bruce.

bellyup
6th March 2009, 06:02 PM
Opps, that should be Bourke Ward school - everyone knows that Burt Ward was Robin in the Batman tv series.:B

astrid
6th March 2009, 07:45 PM
mountain ash

bellyup
6th March 2009, 09:27 PM
Mountain ash a.k.a. Tassie oak? really?
Do you think that the original top was Tasmanian Oak?

astrid
7th March 2009, 12:43 AM
dunno about tassie oak yes aka tasmanian mountain ash.
prolly local ash would be fine, try to get some old timber with a few old dings in it, will look better than new ash.

artme
7th March 2009, 07:53 AM
Hi Bruce, my top was, and is Hoop Pine. I stripped all the old varnish off the whole table and then rubbed Danish oil into it. Left all the blue and red ink stains deep scratches and sewing tracing wheel marks exactlt where they were - helps to remember the history.

I suggest you get some wide boards of Hoop for the top to keep character
with the the original.

bellyup
7th March 2009, 09:09 AM