PDA

View Full Version : Renewing Shellac Top

Doug Hobkirk
15th March 2009, 10:17 AM
My first post on this forum - Hello all - a "Restoration" forum - great!

I do volunteer refinishing for Household Goods Recycling Ministry near Boston, USA. I refinish pieces that are sold (rather than recycled to clients) to defray the operational costs. This piece is on the borderline - we will sell it if the top refinish is successful. It's a perfect chance for me to do my first shellac refinish - next time I will have a much better idea what I'm doing. I am a novice refinisher - I have usually tackled jobs like this by sanding the top to bare wood, staining, and wiping on a satin poly. That works well as long as the piece isn't an antique or the wood doesn't splotch. But I need to learn other methods and I don't have a mentor.

I assume the finish is shellac because it dissolved using DNA (denatured alcohol) and the wipe off was tan and gummy. I wiped it using DNA and paper towels and then 0000 steel wool soaked w/ DNA. I think I've removed all or most of the original shellac. After doing this, the top still shows scratches, spots where the original dye or stain had lightened, a slightly crinkled surface near the front edge (my post-DNA pictures don't show the crinkle but it's still there slightly), and some white residue in some of the pores.

I plan to stain the light spots and maybe the scratches with a red mahogoney pigment stain. I had thought that after that I would just brush on some shellac, but then the questions start popping up -

Should I sand? 320 using a short-stroke ROS?
Do I need do something about the white residue?
Should I pre-seal (I use a product by Zinzer called SealCoat that's 1# or 2# [I forget which] shellac)?
Is there anything else I should do before I brush on some shellac? (I plan on using a canned shellac from Zinzer, which is a heavier cut than the SealCoat - the Zinzer shellacs are very blonde)